I'm new to both Axoloti and Axso, where can I find the best information for development?

I would like to better understand Axoloti / Axso development, will there be a centralized location for resources, ‘getting started’ writing objects, notes on expansion development that kind of thing? I see there is an old post on the Axoloti forum…

In my case, example objects written in C for the Axso board would be a good enough start. Understanding of internals would be better, I would like to work on a version of the Axo Control by MTM or possibly a breakout with an extra 4in/4out 3.5mm dc coupled jacks.

Hey @forrest great to have you on board. I’m going to keep this a bit high level to start; we can go into much more detail as you get started.

If you are coming to the platform for the first time looking to develop new objects, I would start digging through the existing factory and contributor objects for ideas. You can use the object browser on the new site: https://zrna.org/akso/objects

Object pages link out to the original object repositories on Github:
https://zrna.org/akso/object/factory/osc/pwm

Information from the old Axoloti forum about object development is applicable for sure.

Something like a multichannel breakout is going to be more work. You’ll need to get familiar with the firmware in more detail. Before I post the latest code you can take a look at the legacy implementation of the codec driver here: https://github.com/axoloti/axoloti/blob/master/firmware/codec_ADAU1961_SAI.c
It’s useful to work through exactly how samples get computed in a patch and make their way to the codec.

How object implementations actually get stitched together and loaded as an executable patch is a bit complex and not well documented. It’s something that I need to write about in more detail, more of a theoretical treatment of what the basic architecture is right now for people who are interested in the low level detail.