Introducing my self I'm totally blind and looking for people to help me with a hardware Project

Hello everybody hope you’re doing well and staying safe. I’m Trey from south Wales UK. I’m a totally blind electronic musician with mild cerebral palsy my SoundCloud link is below:

I have no coding or DIY electronics ability. One of the most significant challenges I face is being able to play electronic music live in a live streaming or gig context. I’ve had an idea for a project which is a digital hardware sampler that would have an affect section filter an envelope for sample manipulation also Anne LFO for sample modulation and a sequencer section. It would also have Louping capabilities. The interface would be tactile and would be able to be used by a blind user in the live environment. I wouldn’t rule out having accessible text to speech menus or making the device simpler than the feature list I have listed here. To my mind the problem with text to speech menus is that a user would struggle to hear them in the live environment. Just to clarify by the live environment I mean regular gigs when things get back to normal but also live streaming in these pandemic times. Is this a device that could be built with axo hardware what is it more complex than I imagine? I am looking for somebody to help me with this project even though the project would be open source ideally. Though I’m currently exploring funding streams to to pay people to help me with the project as I think it’s only fair.
Is there anybody here that would be interested in helping me with this project I’d love to know everyone’s thoughts on this.
Thank you for taking the time to read this very long post and I look forward to talking with you all :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Whooooaaahhh this is an awesome project! User interface is totally my jam and I’m reading a paper about a programming language for blind children right now!